Automate iOS Development with Keyboard Maestro

Examples with XCode and iOS automation to skyrocket productivity

Konstantinos Nikoloutsos
5 min readJan 17, 2022

Do you want to achieve more by spending less time?
If yes, automation may be the key to what you are looking for

Keyboard Maestro is the leading software for macOS automation.
Not only will it save you time but it will make you feel so powerful (hackerman).

 My favorite automations:

If one picture worth 1 million words then a gif worth 1 trillion 🔥

Let’s jump straight to the most useful automation I regularly use 👀👇
Ready, set, automate 🏁

1. Open your most-used pages faster

Write anywhere//vfgit ➤ Open work Github Pull Requests
Write anywhere//vfjira ➤ Open work Jira

🙈 Instead of: Open safari ⫸ Open bookmarks ⫸ Find & click

I love this one because from from XCode i can write this and open Jira or Github 📈.

🔴 From 6 seconds → 2 seconds

2. Speed up login in simulator.

Depending on the feature I’m building I want to login with different accounts. This automation is like a lastpass/1password for simulator, it fills in username and password you want.

🙈 Instead of: Finding the username password ⫸ Copy username and paste ⫸ copy password and paste ⫸ Press login button

💡Instead of login you can automate a payment journey or whatever you want

🔴 From 9 seconds 3 seconds

3. Faster transitions between XCode and Pull Request

I use this automation especially for PR suggestions to find and jump into the file that I have to refactor. I copy the code from the PR and I just press a button F15.

🙈 Instead of: Focus XCode ⫸ ⌘ + ⇧ + F ⫸ Replace text ⫸ Press Enter

🔴 From 3seconds → 1seconds ✅

4. Open deeplink in simulator faster than ever before.

Just copy the url and press F13 on simulator. Under the hood a terminal script will run and simulator will open your deeplink 🔥
🔴 From 10+ seconds 1 second

5. Enable my VPN with 1 click

In my work some services work only with the VPN. Instead of activating it manually I have an automation that does this for me.

🙈 Instead of: Open and wait cisco VPN ⫸ Type my password ⫸ Press and wait for 2 ok buttons

🔴 From 7 seconds -> 2 seconds

6. Read unlimited premium medium posts for free

Especially useful if you do not have a premium account because it gives you the ability to read the article. By pressing F13, the automation copies the current locked article URL you’re watching and then it opens incognito with it.

🔴 From 3 seconds 1 second

7. Enable/Disable DND when on a meeting/presenting.

This one is one of my favorites as I easily get distracted by notifications. It auto-enables/disables Do not Disturb mode when you use teams/zoom or something else.

If you want to see a demo of this see the 1st tutorial listed here.

🙈 Most of the times we forget to enable DND on every meeting we have.

🔴 From 2 seconds + cognitive effort 0 second

8. Paste current date format 📆

In my work when we create a new ticket we have to write the current date. Intead of writing myself I write//datenow and it converts it into 16/01/2022 or whatever you want to .

🙈 Instead of: Remember what day it is ⫸ Write it down

🔴 From 3 seconds 0.5 seconds

9. Remove style from copied text

Really useful when creating presentations and you copy a text from a website.
This is a default automation in keyboard maestro 😄

🙈 Instead of: Remember what day it is ⫸ Write it down

🔴 From 3 seconds 0.5 seconds

10 . 🚀🚀 The winner: Zapier + keyboard maestro

Last but not least Zapier + keyboard maestro work perfectly fine together.
If you know Zapier you already know how powerful automations you can make. Combine it with keyboard maestro and you are an automation king 👑

Now a keyboard of your computer triggers a zapier task.
If that’s not exciting then what is.

😂 Please use with caution. Do not launch any rocket by pressing a button.

At this point I believe you are pretty conviced that keyboard maestro can save your time. I’m sure you will have more and different ideas than I have. So you shouldn’t stop here. See how you can create your own automations.🎉

How to create my own automations ♻️:

Keyboard maestro comes with an easily understandable UI and users can create their automations simply by adding block of actions and triggers.

I suggest you take a look at the following tutorials which helped me understand how to create my own automations.

Remember keyboard maestro is really flexible 🎉

What to do now 👏:

Everyone at some time of his carreer has the need for automating everyday tasks, so do you!

This was just a one tool about automation. If you are a automation nerd like me I suggest you take a look at the following.

Automation Is a Mindset, Not Just a Tool — Zapier

If you liked what you read please leave a 👏

--

--